Animation 2, Getting started

My first point of reference started of course with Johnny Bravo’s animation. I found a clip from Cartoon Network where he is walking down the street where you get a perfect side view of his walk cycle.

yeah_o_523452.gif

With some editing and cutting I managed to get a looking cycle of only the walk.

Original Reference.gif

This was a good point to start. Only thing is that cartoons made in the 90’s did not have a gigantic budget. So his walk cycle only consisted of 6 frames, so the challenge here was how could I make a 3D animation look polished and good and still keep the cartoonish feel to it. My first attempt at the animation turned out really stiff and choppy. So I figured I needed more frames to support the actual animation itself. I thought about doubling the frames from 6 to 12, which still was not enough. At 25 frames it started to look good, now the challenge was to try and get that cartoonish feel back.

Leave a Reply

