Animation 3 – The gunspin

So for this course we had to animate hand movement and interact with an object.

Being a fan of the video game Metal Gear Solid, I am extremely fascinated by gunspinning. A character called Revolver Ocelot shows off his skills with revolvers by spinning them on his fingers. This is a western trait cowboys usually master. So gathering up my refereces I have a lot of them everything from real life to videogames:

 

There are a lot of tips and tricks on how to spin guns on youtube which I also used for reference

 

 

Now for my real life reference, I just have to point out that I am not good at spinning guns compared to my other references, but I did this to look at the hand movement and not the actual gun spin.

 

 

Now that all of the references are completed, all I need is a gun model.

I started off by drawing a silhouette of a gun in illustrator by using the pen tool. The line of the pen tool is in vector and will be used to create a surface in maya.

GUN.jpg

After exporting it and creating the surface, I did some clean up and ended up with a pretty clear and simple gun.

af6f069b0eac7987517595d4115a2deb.png

And that’s it for now!

Leave a Reply

